Procyon Postings

RACCOON-POD🦝🎶

Check it. This little device has been tucked away on a shelf on our computer tower for YEARS now ("computer tower". I know that's not the proper name, but it always looked like a "tower" to me, as a kid. So, that's what I'm calling it). We still have ours from the 2000s. Back when home computers and television sets were box-shaped and had to be placed into a sort of shelf-desk thingy that encased it in the center. I'm trying to paint a picture because I don't know what it’s called.

Never mind. I just realized that I'm on the internet and can literally look it up, lol. Apparently, it's called an (old) "entertainment center" for a T.V. And a "computer desk with a hutch" for a computer. I'll insert some photos below so that you guys can see what I'm talking about if you have no idea what I mean.

T.V. entertainment center on the left, computer desk on the right. Not my photos, btw. But this is basically what we owned/own. Actually I had my T.V. entertainment center as "recently" as 2019.

I kind of always wanted to use an iPod and I've been getting into old/vintage technology, lately. Only problem was, we didn't have the cable to charge it/transfer music. I bought (a really shitty) one and it somehow it turned on! It was cool to see that little Apple logo after years of staring at a black screen of death. The iPod wasn't one that belonged to our family. One of my father's co-workers had gifted it to him a long, LONG time ago. The iPod’s name was “BRANDONS IPOD” so I'm guessing the original owner's name must of been Brandon or something (crazy, I know).

Anyway, (most of) the music on it SUCKED. There were a few good ones, but all in all, Brandon had some pretty shit taste. Mostly mainstream radio-pop. And not even the GOOD kind of main-stream music of the time (When the ipod turned on for the first time, before I connected it to my laptop to transfer music, the date showed the year as 2009 which is WAY off the mark because there's music that came out after 2009 on it). No personality whatsoever. I showed my dad and he called it “California people music". And that it made sense for "Someone like him (Brandon)". "Cybotron" by Clear has some kick to it, though. very Kraftwerk-esque. A few songs like that on the Pod.

Also, Brandon was HELLA lazy. He didn't fill out ANY of the information in the correct fields, if at all, except for the track's titles. Which, I suspect he copy-pasted from somewhere most of the time because they didn't follow the same formatting conventions. Title only, title - artist, artist - title. Messy, messy, messy. Not to mention, the audio quality for some of the tracks were God-aweful. Sometimes, the first few seconds of some of the tracks were the last few seconds of a different track that wasn’t even on the iPod. Yeesh.

Yeah, I basically deleted most of the tracks on it (there were no albums, per say. At least, none that where complete), kept like 10-15 tracks and just filled the rest of it with a bunch of faggot furry music, gabber, and speedcore (as much as 4gb can get you). Cringe, I know. but at least it's got more personality than "(I Just) Died in Your Arms" by Cutting Crew (It's a good song, but it's soooo plain, average and radio-friendly). And you sure as hell know I included Album cover art, and compiled all the appropriate information into the correct fields for each and every song I added. So now, the album-cover-flow feature displays a buch of bright, colorful furry art and the ipod is full of loud, fast-paced speedcore and stuff. Scroll back up and Peep the 3rd song in the second photo of the iPod. Aw HELL NAW. Brandon was 𝓕𝓡𝓔𝓐𝓚𝓨.


Here's one of the song's that I put on
my little raccoon-pod🦝🎶:

I hope that in the future, when this iPod finds it's way into the hands of some other old-tech enthusiast, they are utterly confused as fuck. (lower your volume, btw.)

Way better than shitty, mainstream radio-pop.

#Apple #iPod #music #old-tech